The Winston Science Fiction Series was a juvenile SF series published by the John C. Winston Company of Philadelphia from 1952 to 1961.

The books below are shown in their original publication order.  Click on a cover to go to the page for that book.



Winston Science Fiction eBooks from other publishers.

Islands in the Sky by Arthur C. Clarke

Vandals of the Void by Jack Vance

Trouble on Titan by Alan E. Nourse

The Star Conquerors by Ben Bova

The Mists of Dawn by Chad Oliver

Vault of the Ages by Poul Anderson

Other Winston series books by Donald A. Wollheim are not available as eBooks at this time but may be in the future.

Covers by Hugo winning artists like Alex Schomburg (who also created the endpapers used in many books of the series) and Virgil Finlay, as well Hugo nominees like Mel Hunter and Ed Emshwiller, contributed a great deal to the success of the series.  Covers had a more serious feel than some other SF art of the time, and compliment the educational attitude the authors took in writing their factual forewords describing the science and technology that appears in the books.


CLICK HERE for a high resolution version of the endpaper illustration.