The Winston Science Fiction Series was a juvenile SF series published by the John C. Winston Company of Philadelphia from 1952 to 1961.

The books below are shown in their original publication order.  Click on a cover to go to the page for that book.



Winston Science Fiction eBooks from other publishers.

Islands in the Sky by Arthur C. Clarke

Vandals of the Void by Jack Vance

Trouble on Titan by Alan E. Nourse

The Star Conquerors by Ben Bova

The Mists of Dawn by Chad Oliver

Vault of the Ages by Poul Anderson

Other Winston series books by Donald A. Wollheim are not available as eBooks at this time but may be in the future.

Covers by Hugo winning artists like Alex Schomburg (who also created the endpapers used in many books of the series) and Virgil Finlay, as well Hugo nominees like Mel Hunter and Ed Emshwiller, contributed a great deal to the success of the series.  Covers had a more serious feel than some other SF art of the time, and compliment the educational attitude the authors took in writing their factual forewords describing the science and technology that appears in the books.


CLICK HERE for a high resolution version of the endpaper illustration.


The George Abercrombie Fox series of historical naval fiction novels by Kenneth Bulmer (writing as Adam Hardy).  George Abercrombie Fox is an officer in the Royal Navy during the Napoleonic Wars at the end of the 18th century. He fought his way up from the ranks, a nearly impossible feat in that period, and has the attitude to match. The tag line for the series is "the toughest bastard on the high seas."















A gripping series of novels about the U-boat war waged with grim ferocity in the bitter depths of the world’s oceans.




 Intense submarine action from the early days of World War II through to the Cold War, by veteran submariner Harry Homewood.



The Naval Service of the Honorable East India Company, popularly known as the Bombay Marine, operated in romantic areas in perilous times. From the Indian Ocean to the South China Sea, from Calcutta to Canton, the Company ships were famous for their speed and daring. The "Bombay Buccaneers" who sailed them were the stuff of legend.

Percival Merewether, promoted from First Lieutenant to become the junior Captain in the Company’s Service and given the command of his first ship - the Rapid, had quick wits and daring to match his ambition.